Laugh!

100 Hours of Humo(u)r – Hour 52 Time Out (And an update on contest #3)

 

Update (added later): Contest #3 has ended. Thanks to all who entered! Results will be posted within a few hours. 


(Earlier Message:)

Hello everyone!

My body is once again demanding I snooze for a while in spite of the fact that I have not yet pre-loaded posts for the next few hours. I will be back in a few hours.

In the meantime, just to clarify, regarding the deadline for contest #3: The rules say the deadline is at the end of Hour 55; however, I will likely not have Hour 55’s post up in time. So… Entries for contest #3 must be received in my inbox by:

  • Noon Pacific Time (North America)
  • 3 p.m. Eastern
  • 8 p.m. GMT
  • 9 p.m. CET
  • 4 a.m. Singapore
  • 7 a.m. Sydney
  • 9 a.m. New Zealand (except for that one weird island that’s off by 45 minutes. What’s with that?)

And hey… this is not my official hour 52 post. I’m not getting that lame! Watch this page for something more substantial when I’m awake.

 

Humor writing online courses

Published on Monday, March 4, 2013

5 Responses to “100 Hours of Humo(u)r – Hour 52 Time Out (And an update on contest #3)”

  1. Karen
    March 4, 2013 at 3:07 AM

    I’m SO confused! Can you post a countdown clock on here? Is the 3rd contest due 3pm Eastern on March 3 or 4th?

    • Art Segal
      March 4, 2013 at 2:12 PM

      When was Hour 55 North America – Pacific Time? I thought the 100 Hours began at 10:00 PM Pacific Time (US) so that we are now at approxmately 48 hours from the start time. So I was surprised that Contest No. 3 has ended. I haven’t been able to stay online all weekend and had to catch up with many of the posts.

  2. Jules
    March 4, 2013 at 3:51 AM

    Damn! Just found this posting! I had LOTS of road trip tales! Guess I’ll save em for your next class!

  3. Karen
    March 4, 2013 at 5:23 AM

    I’m still so confused! What hour are we IN? You guys are posting from the future. It is still yesterday here. So doesn’t that mean I have until 3pm tomorrow?

  4. March 4, 2013 at 3:16 PM

    Hello everybody. I am sincerely saddened by all of this time-related confusion. To clarify:

    Hour one of the 100 hours was on Friday at 10 p.m. Singapore time. This was 6 a.m. US PT or 9 a.m. Friday US ET.

    I did fall behind on a few posts when a screaming need for sleep got the better of me; however, I’ve taken a look at the times of my announcements for this contest, to see if there was any ambiguity, and have found five different posts, in hours 31, 33, 50, 51, and 52, all of which were posted on schedule, stating how many hours were left till the deadline.

    Karen, if I can find a quick way to post a countdown timer for the final contest (which is also travel-themed), I will do so.

    I think I’ve been pretty clear about how many hours have been remaining — and about letting people knwo when my posts were a bit behind schedule. If anybody is feeling sincerely jilted out of an opportunity, however, let me know and I’ll see how I can make it up to you. Please keep in mind, though, I’m one really tired guy in Singapore, with a web designer in England, putting on a one-man, 100-hour show for a predominantly North American audience. I’ve been awake in far too many time zones over the last 66 hours to not be screwing up a thing or two. :-)

    (And to reiterate, with five on-time posts about how many hours were left until this contest deadline, I hope you can see I tried.)

Leave a Reply