Blog

Catch the New Globejotting Travel Show on Expat Radio!

By Dave Fox
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

I’m excited to announce my new radio program, The Globejotting Travel Show on Expat Radio, an English-language Internet radio station based in France.

Episode one will debut this Tuesday, October 31. It will be repeated on Monday, November 6. (If you’re in the Americas, the November 6 replay will be at a time when you’re more likely to be awake.)

You can listen at the following times:

 Tuesday, Oct. 31  Monday, Nov. 6
Seattle  3 a.m.  11 a.m.
New York  6 a.m.  2 p.m.
London 10 a.m.  6 p.m.
Paris  11 a.m.  7 p.m.
Singapore  5 p.m.  1 a.m. (Tuesday, Nov. 7)
Ho Chi Minh City  6 p.m. 2 a.m. (Tuesday, Nov. 7)
Sydney  9 p.m. 5 a.m. (Tuesday, Nov. 7)
Your Location: Check the time in your location here. Check the time in your location here. 

(Times in some time zones will change in December due to Daylight Savings Time.)

This all came about in a bizarre way. This summer, when we were housesitting in France, Kattina and I were sitting at a streetside café one day. I have no idea how I got on this topic, but I started talking to her about how I have always missed working in radio news – a job I did during and shortly after college around 25 years ago.

While we were talking, two cars with Expat Radio logos pulled up and stopped right next to our table. One of the guys who got out was the station’s founder, Dave Hailwood.

I had never heard of Expat Radio before. I asked Dave about the station. He told me he knew my website and had been meaning to contact me to ask if I’d be interested in hosting a travel program on his station.

Eerie, huh?

(Cue “Twilight Zone” theme music.)

With that in mind, I decided “Travel Serendipity” would be an appropriate theme for the first episode. Among other things, I’ll talk about the serendipitous events that led me to move to Vietnam. Brian Letwin, co-founder of the Saigoneer website, will also join me to chat about life in Ho Chi Minh City and places to explore in Vietnam.

I Need Your Help With Future Episodes!

There’s a learning curve in producing a radio show from my home office in Saigon (which has lately been filled with the sweet, sweet sounds of next-door jackhammering, 15 hours a day), so I’m easing my way into things with one program a month for starters.

New episodes will stream on the first Tuesday of each month with a replay on the second Monday. (This month, we’re starting a week early with our October 31 launch.)

For future episodes, I could use your help! I’m looking for the following:

  • Guests with unusual, quirky, inspirational, or funny travel stories to tell.
  • Guests who have traveled in unusual ways or are having unique international living experiences.
  • Topic or destination suggestions for future shows.
  • Travel questions from listeners.
  • And hey … if you happen to have radio or podcasting experience and would be interested in contributing an occasional segment, I’d love to hear from you!

Drop me an e-mail and get in on the travel radio mayhem!

Published on Sunday, October 29, 2017

Leave a Reply