Blog

Free “Savvy Authors” Humor Writing Chat: Wednesday, January 22

By Dave Fox
Singapore

Savvy Authors logoSavvyAuthors.com has invited me back to host a live chat and mini-lesson on how to write humor this Wednesday, January 22, 2014.

Contrary to popular belief, a “sense of humor” is not a magical “gift” a few special people are born with. Humor and writing are both skills anyone can develop and polish. I’ll teach the techniques professional comedy writers use to write consistently hilarious material. A few of the topics we’ll discuss include:

  • Surprise: The universal element of humor
  • Choosing the right words and timing for maximum impact
  • Stretching your jokes to make funny things funnier
  • Why walruses and wildebeest are higher on the comedic food chain than dogs and children

Whether you’re going for full-blown cackling, or just looking to infuse a few laughs into stories or dialogue, I’ll teach you tricks to help spiff up just about any writing genre. These techniques work great for public speakers too!

The one-hour chat, including a mini-lesson in humor writing and time afterward for Q&A, will happen live at the following time:

  • Eastern Time (Americas): Wednesday, January 22 at 9 p.m.
  • Pacific Time (Americas): Wednesday, January 22 at 6 p.m.
  • Greenwich Mean Time: Thursday, January 23 at 2 a.m.
  • Central European Time: Thursday, January 23 at 3 a.m.
  • Singapore (where I’ll be checking in from)Thursday, January 23 at 10 a.m.
  • Sydney, Australia: Thursday, January 23 at 1 p.m.

This is a free chat, open to anyone who wants to join in, but you need to set up an account in advance on the Savvy Authors website. 

You can get more details about the chat and sign up to join us here.

Published on Wednesday, January 15, 2014

Leave a Reply