Blog

Group Coaching for Writers and Other Creative Creatures

Just announced: A six-week program to unleash your creativity. Jumpstart or rejuvenate that project you keep saying you’ll do “someday!”

Have you got a writing goal or another creative project that’s been swirling in your head for months or years? Something you’ve never managed to start, or a “work in progress” you haven’t made progress on in a while?

It might be a book or collection of essays, a new blog (or one that needs resuscitating), or your first serious leap into professional freelancing. Or maybe you’ve been wanting to start a podcast or YouTube channel, maintain a steady artistic habit, become a stand-up comic, or open the world’s first break-dancing academy for hamsters.

If a creative dream has been lurking in your head for a long time, and you’ve not had the time, focus, motivation, or confidence to put that dream into action, let’s fix that.

I’m excited to announce a new, six-week, group coaching program to help you create space in your life and clear away the mental static that stops you from moving forward with your creative goals.

 

What “Someday” Really Means

When we push our creative dreams aside for too long, they have a way of gnawing at us. Thinking about them becomes a reflection on what we haven’t accomplished. Life feels incomplete, and a subtle self-scolding begins:

Are your goals feeling cloudy at the moment? This workshop will help you gain the clarity, focus, motivation needed to get started and keep going.

“How is it that other people accomplish these things but I can’t? I must not be as good as them.”

Do any of these sound familiar?

  • “I want to do this but I’m too busy.”
  • “Accomplishing this goal will take so long. It feels overwhelming.”
  • “I have so many ideas, I don’t know where to start.”
  • “I love starting projects but I never finish any of them.”
  • “My goals are vague. I’m not sure what I’m trying to accomplish.”
  • “I probably won’t succeed, so why bother?”
  • “Eek! What if I do succeed and get lots of exposure? I’m afraid of how people will judge me.”
  • “This project is super personal. It dredges up difficult emotions that make it hard to work on.”
  • “I can’t focus.”
  • “I’m not talented enough.”
  • “I’ll get to it someday.

Here’s a hint on that last one: “Someday” can drag on for years. It’s often a euphemism for “probably never.”

And then there’s this, which I’ve been hearing a lot lately:

  • “When the pandemic began, I decided I’d make the most of the lockdown and work on my project. But now, seven months later, here we are and….”

It took years, not days, to put a man on the moon, but it happened. What if NASA had just kept saying, “We’ll do it someday?”

If any of this is resonating with you, the good news is: You’re normal. All of these reasons for not moving forward on creative projects are mental roadblocks that stall millions of humans around the world.

But that’s not really good news, is it? Think about it: Millions of people have creative dreams they’ll never even take a stab at. They’ll never find out what they could have accomplished, and the rest of us will miss out on their potential greatness too.

I don’t want you to be one of those “normal” millions. I want to help you be one of the abnormally amazing ones, someone who others look up to and say, “Man, I wish I could do what you did!”

(And then I want you to spread this gospel to anyone who says that to you: You probably can do what you want to, but you might need to first address the reasons for why you haven’t started.)

 

Your Creative Tribe

In this small-group creativity coaching program, we’ll work together to move your project out of the “someday” black hole and into reality.

We’ll help you sketch out your own map for success.

We’ll meet on Zoom, 90 minutes a week, for six weeks – you, me, and our tribe of five to eight people who have cool but elusive goals of their own. Each week, everyone will have time to talk about what they’re working on or want to be working on. We’ll dig into your specific goals and challenges, and design a plan to help you gain traction, maintain momentum, and make that thing you want to do happen. (And I promise: It will be a realistic plan that will not scare the hell out of you.)

We’ll learn about the mindsets of people who succeed at their creative goals and explore ways to foster those productive ways of thinking in yourself. We’ll discuss proven strategies for getting things done. If you’ve been feeling stuck, we’ll help you get unstuck. We’ll move forward together as a team of friends, holding each other accountable in an encouraging environment.

(And don’t worry. While accountability will be a key component in our program, there will be no shaming or finger-wagging if you have an unproductive week. Figuring out what’s slowing you down sometimes requires some trial-and-error. We’ll be there to support you and we’ll adjust your plan as needed.)

 

What Results Can I Expect?

The purpose of this six-week workshop is to help you identify the things in your life, and the beliefs in your head, that slow you down from achieving your goals and dreams. We’ll figure out what’s been getting in your way. (It might not be what you think.) Then, we’ll plot a realistic and doable plan to help you gain traction during our time together, and keep going after our workshop ends.

“Realistic and doable” are key. One of the most common ways people sabotage their goals is by taking on too much, too fast. They set themselves up for an early failure and give up quickly. Or, they feel overwhelmed by the scope of a project and they never get started. The point here is not to spew out a 12-month project in six weeks of coaching.

You want to form a bagpipe heavy metal band but you haven’t learned how to play the bagpipes yet? That’s cool and likely achievable – but not in six weeks.

Probably the cutest species of salamander on the planet, the axolotl is one of the only creatures that can regrow limbs and many of its organs. (Photo: Mike Licht / flickr-CC BY 2.0)

You want to publish a 300-page romance novel about an axolotl who falls in love with a saxophone? Sweet! But you’re not going to get the whole thing written, edited, and sold to a publisher in 42 days.

(If you think my axolotl-saxophone romance novel idea is weird, I’d like to point out that one of the world’s most legendary storytellers, Hans Christian Andersen, wrote a fairytale in which a shirt collar proposes marriage to a comb after being rejected by a garter belt. But I digress.)

Here’s my point: What we are not going to do is call our workshop a “bootcamp” and create impossible, high-anxiety challenges for ourselves. This is a springboard, not a sprint. If you have a really big, long-term project you want to work on, fantastic! In our first session, we’ll set realistic and achievable goals that are in sync with your lifestyle, personality, and skill level, and we’ll help you set that plan into action.

You’ll wrap up our six weeks with concrete strategies to maintain momentum after the workshop has ended, as well as a new set of skills to help you manage your time, energy, motivation, self-doubt, and anything else that’s been holding you back.

 

The Benefits of Group Coaching

For certain types of writing and creativity coaching, there’s value in doing deep, one-on-one work with a qualified mentor, but for the sorts of issues we’ll cover in this workshop, there are big benefits to working with a group – and not just the lower price. (But there’s that too. I’ll get to the price in a moment.)

You’ll discover many of the things about the creative process that make you feel “crazy” are super common. Others in the group might bring up their own challenges or fears – things you hadn’t realized have been holding you back too. Once you’ve uncovered your own hidden, mental blocks, you’ll be able to look for ways around them.

We’ll tackle these obstacles together and find motivation in other people’s successes as well as our own. And yeah, I’m a certified life coach who has studied strategies for conquering creative blocks, but sometimes in a group, others come up with brilliant ideas I might not have considered – strategies that might be exactly what you need.

We’ll all coach each other. You’ll have not just me but a small team of peers offering you feedback and guidance. And … (this is a big one) … as you ponder strategies to help others in the group, you might find you’ve been needing those same strategies yourself.

We are often too close to our own thoughts to coach ourselves. When we seek solutions for others, we sometimes realize, “Hey! That might work for me too.”

 

How Much Does it Cost?

In addition to the above benefits of group coaching, yes, this workshop is cheaper than hiring me one-on-one.

The price for this six-week program of 90-minute sessions is US $225. That comes to $25 per hour. (In comparison, my rates for private consulting range between $69 and $85 per hour.)

You’ll also have the option of adding a solo coaching session with me during the six weeks at a discounted rate of $50.

 

The Messy Part: When’s This Going to Happen?

The great thing about live, online workshops is you can participate from anywhere in the world. The tricky thing is, here on Planet Earth, we have 29 time zones.

I was super excited when my Coping with Coronavirus Chaos webinar a few months ago drew live participants from six continents – thanks in part to my sleep-deprived friend, Kreig, who stayed awake from 3 to 5 a.m. in Australia to represent continent number six. But not everybody wants to do that.

When it’s morning here in Vietnam (where I live), it’s nighttime in the Americas. When it’s lunchtime in Austria, it’s the middle of the night in Australia. (If that last sentence didn’t make sense, reread it slowly.)

Finding a time that accommodates everyone in every time zone just isn’t possible. So here’s what I’ve decided to do:

I’ve decided to avoid all responsibility in this decision making process and leave it up to you.

I’m considering two different times. If there’s enough interest, I’ll run workshops at both times, and you can choose the one that best fits your schedule. If we don’t have enough people to accommodate both times, I’ll plan to offer the other time in early 2021.

(Once you choose a time, you’ll need to meet at that time each week. To maintain group cohesiveness, you can’t switch back and forth. If you’re unable to attend a session, a recording will be available that you can watch afterward. These recordings will only be available to others in your group; they will not be viewable by the general public.)

Here are the two options for these 90-minute sessions:

Option 1:
Sundays evenings in the Americas / Mondays elsewhere.
November 1 / 2 through December 6 / 7.

• North America – Pacific Time: 6 p.m. Sundays
• North America – Eastern Time: 9 p.m. Sundays
• UK / Ireland / Portugal: 2 a.m. Mondays
• Central European Time: 3 a.m. Mondays
• India: 7:30 a.m. Mondays
• Vietnam: 9 a.m. Mondays
• Singapore / Hong Kong / Perth: 10 a.m. Mondays
• Japan: 11 a.m. Mondays
• Australian Eastern Daylight Time: 1 p.m. Mondays
• New Zealand: 3 p.m. Mondays

Option 2:
Thursdays in most time zones / Very early Friday in a few countries.
November 5 / 6 through December 17 / 18

(In observance of the Thanksgiving holiday in the United States, the Thursday group will not meet on November 26.)

• North America – Pacific Time: 8 a.m. Thursdays
• North America – Eastern Time: 11 a.m. Thursdays
• UK / Ireland / Portugal: 4 p.m. Thursdays
• Central European Time: 5 p.m. Thursdays
• India: 9:30 p.m. Thursdays
• Vietnam: 11 p.m. Thursdays
• Singapore / Hong Kong / Perth: Midnight Fridays (late Thursday night)
• Japan: 1 a.m. Fridays
• Australian Eastern Daylight Time: 3 a.m. Fridays
• New Zealand: 5 a.m. Fridays

(Think that’s complicated? I’m starting these workshops in November for a reason. In October, Europe and North America move their clocks backward for Daylight Savings Time on different weekends from each other. Parts of Australia move their clocks forward on a third weekend. Other parts of Australia don’t change their clocks at all, nor does Vietnam. By November 1, we’ll be back to having consistent time zone differences for the next five months.)

 

Come Join Us!

If you’ve read this far, you must be at least a little interested. So hey, if you’d like to join us, pop over here and fill out this form. Tell me who you are, where you are, a little bit about your writing or other creative goals, and your preferred time option.

As soon as we have five people confirmed for the time you choose, I’ll send you an invoice and you can pay me online via credit card, PayPal, or bank transfer.

(If you’re not sure if this coaching program is a good fit for you, send me an email. Tell me about you and your goals and ask me any questions you have. I’ll get back to you within a day or two.)

Each group will have a maximum of eight participants. Spaces will be filled on a first-come, first-served basis, based on who fills out the enrollment form first … so if you want to join us, sign up now before all the slots are filledand get ready to charge into 2021, bursting with creative energy, a new set of productivity skills, and a solid plan to turn your “someday” dreams into “I did it!’ success.


SIGN UP NOW

 

Published on Thursday, October 29, 2020

Leave a Reply