Travel!

Globejotting Virtual Happy Hour: Postponed

By Dave Fox
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
August 9, 2021

AUGUST 12 UPDATE: EVENT POSTPONED
I was planning to host two online happy hours this weekend. I unfortunately need to postpone them, however. I have just received word that I am scheduled for my second Covid vaccination at the same time as the first of the two happy hours. Vaccines are in short supply in Vietnam, and I need to go at my assigned time or I will risk not getting vaccinated.

I have also decided to postpone the Sunday happy hour, as I was running a high fever after my first vaccination and might need to just lay in bed and moan on Sunday. (Happily, mind you, because the bad reaction is for a good reason.)

Thanks for your understanding, and stay tuned for a new date to be announced in a week or two.

(I’m leaving the event description up for now. I’ll announce new dates soon.)

Saigon is in an intense lockdown due to Covid. It’s illegal to go outside, except for grocery shopping or medical reasons. The city is under a strictly enforced 6 p.m. curfew. I’ve been spending a lot of time in my apartment … and I’m bored.

So hey … I hope you’ll come keep me company this weekend in a free Virtual Happy Hour on Zoom.

Globejotting travel mascot extraordinaire, Mr. Sven Wondermoose, will also be joining the fiesta!

This will be an unscripted event. We can talk about anything. All you need to do is sign up … and then join me and Svenny on Zoom with a beverage of your choice. (It can be a cocktail or a coffee, sangria or soy milk. Whatever makes you happy!)

To accommodate people across the full spectrum of time zones, I’m offering two different happy hours. You can sign up for one or both:

Happy Hour #1 – Postponed. New date will be announced soon.

• North America – Pacific Time: 7 p.m. Friday
• North America – Eastern Time: 10 p.m. Friday
• UK / Ireland / Portugal: 3 a.m. Saturday
• Central European Time: 4 a.m. Saturday
• India: 7:30 a.m. Saturday
• Vietnam: 9 a.m. Saturday
• Singapore / Hong Kong / Perth: 10 a.m. Saturday
• Japan: 11 a.m. Saturday
• Sydney, Australia: Noon on Saturday
New Zealand: 2 p.m. Saturday

Happy Hour #2 – Postponed. New date will be announced soon.

• North America – Pacific Time: 8 a.m. Sunday
• North America – Eastern Time: 11 a.m. Sunday
• UK / Ireland / Portugal: 4 p.m. Sunday
• Central European Time: 5 p.m. Sunday
• India: 8:30 p.m. Sunday
• Vietnam: 10 p.m. Sunday
• Singapore / Hong Kong / Perth: 11 p.m. Sunday
• Japan: Midnight (Late Sunday night heading into Monday)
• Sydney, Australia: 1 a.m. Monday
• New Zealand: 3 a.m. Monday

Here’s How to Join Us

Click on over to my online appointment calendar and choose your time. If you don’t see your location in the list above, the calendar will convert the time zone for you when you sign up. This is a free event, but you must pre-register to receive the Zoom link.

After you register, you’ll receive an automated email response with a link to join us in our Zoom party room.

As I said, this will be a casual chat with no planned topics. I will likely grumble for a few minutes about life under one of the world’s tightest lockdowns, but beyond that, we can talk about anything.

If there’s anything you’d like to ask me (or Svenny), feel free to email me ahead of time and we’ll do our best to answer your questions during the party. Ridiculous questions are especially welcome.

I look forward to seeing you this weekend!

Published on Monday, August 9, 2021

Leave a Reply